LASALLE CARS

We are apologize for the inconvenience but you need to download
more modern browser in order to be able to browse our page

LaSalle – Designed in the U.S.A.

« For car designers,
the present is already the past  »

Harley J. Earl

LaSalle – A human adventure

First and foremost, the General Motors LaSalle car is a story of two men.

Alfred P. Sloan held the Presidency of General Motors for almost 30 years. He was a marketing genius and a very deserving successor of the notoriously rational Henry Ford.

Harley J. Earl was an unparalleled automobile designer. He was a dreamer, an artisan, an artist and a genius all tied up in one. He personified the brand’s soul. Their legacy knows no bounds and, to them the LaSalle was their most fabulous playground.

1893 – A genius is born

22 November, 1893: Harley J. Earl is born in Hollywood, California

More than a century has gone by since then, and yet, the influence that this visionary man has had on the world of automobile design remains intact. His time travel machine came in the shape of a car; the most beautiful car imaginable.

Posterity tends to remember him as the father of the mythical Chevrolet Corvette; however, it is thanks to his first LaSalle that his name has become legendary …

1910 – After the rain comes….clay!

“The childhood shows the man, as morning shows the day”

John Milton

Harley J. Earl is an adolescent brimming with imagination and creativity. During a family camping trip, the youth had gone for a walk after a heavy rainfall. The soil had been disturbed by the rains and Earl discovered a clay deposit. On impulse, the young man started sculpting the material and created a car that was, till then, unique to the world. The occasion marked the beginning of a lifelong adventure; Earl became the first designer to use plasticine for the creation of his automobile designs.

1920 – The future lies at the tip of a pencil

« Technology makes what was once impossible possible. Design makes it real. »

Michael Gagliano

Harley J. Earl is still working for his father. The family-owned company, Earl Automotive Works, is in the business of selling dreams; their custom built, and thus one-of-a-kind cars, are a big thing in Hollywood at the time. When it came to his own dreams, Earl never rested before that he had put them down on paper, with a, by now, well-practised hand and well-used pencil tip. His dreams were curvaceous, and that in an era when engineers were only capable of thinking in terms of right angles.

1921 – A dream car for everyone

“A car for every purse and purpose.”

Alfred P. Sloan

During a General Motors summit meeting held in April 1921, Alfred P. Sloan, the then vice-president, inadvertently invented what is now referred to as sloanism. Sloanism segmented the automotive market according to the consumers’ socio-cultural profile, budget, and dreams of social advancement. Buick represented the bottom of the range, Cadillac represented the top of the range, and so the LaSalle neatly claimed the middle position. But as history went on to prove, one’s fondness for a car is not just a matter of price…..

1926 – Print the legend

“When the legend becomes fact, print the legend”

Ransom Stoddard

For once, the legend is in line with reality. In 1926, the General Manager of General Motors’ Cadillac division, Lawrence P. Fisher, happens to visit the father of Harley J. Earl at his home. Fisher, himself a former coachbuilder, is absolutely astonished when he sees the plasticine models made by the young Californian designer. He is so impressed that he tells the young man: « Come with me my son, I have a job for you ». Earl finds himself entrusted with the creation of the first LaSalle, thereby filling the famous gap in the market between the Buick and the Cadillac.

1929 – There can be but one

« The world does not just evolve thanks to creation and progress; first and foremost come decay and crisis.”

Alain Touraine

The terrible crisis of 1929 swept away everything in its path; people, along with their dreams of success, were wiped out. The Oakland, Viking, and Marquette: all the car brands that were born under Sloanism disappeared one by one. Just one car formed the exception, the LaSalle, symbol of a hopeful America, survived the onslaught.

1933 – A good sketch is better than a long speech

« A good sketch is better than a long speech. »

Napoleon Bonaparte

The economic crisis kept on dealing out its blows. The sales of the LaSalle declined and General Motors’ management decided to put a stop to their senseless expenses. Nevertheless, Harley J. Earl did not give up; he presented his superiors with a sketch of a model he had just drawn: « You don’t want to market it? But why not take a look all the same…. » Elegance and sophistication ended up defeating the strategists, and against all odds, production was started up again. Warren G. Fitzgerald, one of Earl’s colleagues, later said « Without a doubt, Harley Earl saved the LaSalle thanks to his magnificent sketch. »

1940 – All good things must come to an end

“You should have let me keep my old LaSalle…. »

Miss Daisy Werthan

Despite their acceptable sales volume, the LaSalle cars were just not able to compete with the level of success known by hardy competitors, such as the Lincoln or the Packard (although we feel the need to point out that these cars resembled their parent-brand, the Cadillac, too much). Rightfully so, General Motors eventually decided that the LaSalle was no longer viable. Nonetheless, the last LaSalles of 1940, renowned for their excessively long hoods and unprecedented aerodynamics, entered the annals of history. But, as the saying goes, “all good things must come to an end …”

Top
LOADING CONTENT

We are apologize for the inconvenience but you need to download
more modern browser in order to be able to browse our page

LaSalle – Designée aux U.S.A.

« Pour les designers de voitures,
le présent, c’est déjà du passé. »

Harley J. Earl

LaSalle – Une aventure humaine

Les voitures LaSalle de la General Motors sont avant tout l’histoire de deux hommes.

Alfred P. Sloan, président de la General Motors pendant près de 30 ans. Un génie du marketing, digne successeur du si rationnel Henry Ford.

Harley J. Earl, styliste automobile à nul autre pareil. Un rêveur. Un artisan. Un artiste. Un génie. L’âme de la marque. Leur héritage est sans limite. Et LaSalle fut leur plus beau terrain de jeu.

1893 – Un génie voit le jour

22 novembre 1893. À Hollywood, Californie, Harley J. Earl voit le jour.

Plus d’un siècle s’est écoulé depuis et pourtant, l’influence de ce visionnaire sur le design automobile est restée intacte. Sa machine à voyager dans le temps : une voiture. La plus belle possible.

Si la postérité retient souvent de lui qu’il est le papa de la mythique Chevrolet Corvette, c’est pourtant avec la première LaSalle qu’il entrera dans la légende…

1910 – Après la pluie, l’argile…

« La jeunesse montre l’homme comme le matin montre le jour. »

John Milton

Harley J. Earl est un adolescent plein d’imagination. Au cours d’un voyage au camping en famille, le jeune homme s’écarte du campement après une forte pluie. Les éléments on creusé la terre. Earl découvre une poche remplie d’argile. Sans réfléchir, le jeune homme se met à sculpter la matière et donne vie à une voiture comme personne n’en avait jamais vu avant. Ce n’est que le début de l’aventure. Mais Earl restera à jamais comme le premier designer à utiliser la pâte à modeler pour sculpter ses projets de voiture.

1920 – L’avenir au bout du crayon

« La technologie rend possible ce qui était impossible. Le design le réalise. »

Michael Gagliano

Harley J. Earl travaille encore pour son père. La société familiale Earl Automotive Works vend du rêve en fabriquant des carrosseries sur mesure, et donc uniques, pour le tout Hollywood de l’époque. Ses rêves à lui, Earl n’a de cesse de les coucher sur papier, à la pointe d’un crayon déjà très affuté. Des rêves aux formes courbes, alors que les ingénieurs de l’époque ne raisonnent qu’à angle droit…

1921 – Une automobile de rêve pour tous

« Une voiture pour toutes les bourses et toutes les ambitions. »

Alfred P. Sloan

Avril 1921. Réunion au sommet dans les bureaux de la General Motors. Alfred P. Sloan, alors vice-président, invente, l’air de rien, le sloanisme. Ou comment segmenter le marché de l’automobile en fonction du profil socioculturel du consommateur, de son budget, et de ses rêves d’ascension sociale. Si Buick est l’entrée de gamme et Cadillac le haut de gamme, alors, LaSalle prendra place au milieu. Mais l’histoire montrera que l’attachement qu’on porte à une voiture n’est pas qu’une question de prix…

1926 – Imprimez la légende

« Quand la légende est plus belle que la réalité, imprimez la légende »

Ransom Stoddard

Pour une fois, la légende est à la hauteur de la réalité. En 1926, le manager général de la division Cadillac de General Motors, Lawrence P. Fisher, rend visite au père d’Harley J. Earl. Lui-même ancien carrossier, Fisher reste bouche bée face aux maquettes en pâte à modeler de ce jeune styliste californien. Il s’approche de lui et dit : « Viens avec moi fils, j’ai un travail pour toi. ». Earl se voit alors confiée la conception de la première LaSalle, le fameux segment de marché manquant entre Buick et Cadillac.

1929 – Il ne peut en rester qu’une

« Le changement du monde n’est pas seulement création, progrès, il est d’abord et toujours décomposition, crise. »

Alain Touraine

L’effroyable crise de 1929 emporte tout sur son passage. Les hommes, mais aussi leurs rêves d’ascension. Oakland, Viking, Marquette : toutes les marques de voiture nées du sloanisme disparaissent les unes après les autres. Toutes, sauf une. LaSalle. Symbole d’une Amérique qui croit encore en son avenir.

1933 – Un dessin vaut mieux qu’un long discours

« Un bon croquis vaut mieux qu’un long discours. »

Napoléon Bonaparte

La crise économique n’a pas dit son dernier mot. Les ventes de LaSalle déclinent. La direction générale de General Motors décide d’arrêter les frais. Harley J. Earl n’abandonne pas. Il montre à ses supérieurs le modèle qu’il vient de dessiner. « Vous ne voulez pas la commercialiser ? Regardez-là quand même. » Élégance, finesse : les stratèges sont conquis. La production repart, contre vents et marées. « Harley Earl a sans aucun doute sauvé la LaSalle grâce à ce magnifique dessin », dira plus tard l’un de ses collaborateurs, Waren G. Fitzgerald.

1940 – Toutes les histoires ont une fin

« Vous auriez dû me laisser garder ma vieille LaSalle… »

Miss Daisy Werthan

Malgré des ventes toujours correctes, les LaSalle ne résistent pas au succès de quelques vaillantes concurrentes, telles que les Lincoln ou les Packard. Il faut dire que les derniers modèles ressemblent un peu trop à la marque mère, Cadillac. À juste titre, General Motors finira par décider que LaSalle n’a plus de raison d’être. Avec leur capot démesurément long, d’un aérodynamisme sans précédent, les dernières LaSalle de 1940, n’entreront pas moins dans les annales. Mais toutes les histoires, même les plus belles, ont une fin…

Top
LOADING CONTENT